Doctor Designed  •  Audiologist Tested  •  FDA Registered

Amazon Product Reviews

MDHearingAid on Amazon.com

Recently, Amazon has unilaterally adopted a number of practices which make it impractical for MDHearingAid® to continue offering hearing aids on their site.

Specifically, these changes impact the ability for our customers to properly trial an MDHearingAid® with our excellent product support and 45-day Risk Free 100% Money Back Guarantee. Some of Amazon's practices:

We believe these changes have made it increasingly difficult to provide value and service to our customers on Amazon.com. In the last case, we believe Amazon is engaging in a practice that is both confusing and deceptive to the consumer. Although negotiations are ongoing, for the time being we have decided to suspend sales of MDHearingAid products on Amazon.com

The MDHearingAid® PRO is the Number 1 Rated and Number 1 selling hearing aid on Amazon over the last 3 years. Customer reviews are below.


Posted by Web_walker_1 on January 26, 2013

First of all I’ll give the the verbatim text of an email I sent out to virtually everyone in my address book a day or two after receiving my new hearing aids. Here is what I wrote: A week or so ago I ordered 2 hearing aids from amazon.com. As most of you know I am quite hard of hearing and have been so for a number of years. I’ve needed hearing aids for several years, but due to maybe a bit of pride. . . but mainly I think that I’ve been reluctant to spend the money. . . rather significant money for hearing aids. It just graveled me that hearing aids are so expensive. There is absolutely no justification for the high cost. . . you can quite easily spend 1000’s of dollars per ear for hearing aids. Look at any kind of technology of comparable complexity. . . cell phones for example. There is far far more technology involved in an iPhone than in a silly little hearing aid and yet the hearing aid several times what the iPhone costs. . . You can’t say it’s the size of the market. . . I mean I’m sure millions of Americans wear hearing aides, but for some reason hearing aids are priced completely out of whack with what they are intrinsically worth. . . people are making gobs of money in selling hearing aids. Anyway I say all that to tell you that I bought 2 hearing aids for a little more than $300. In Amazon’s rating system, they presently have 127 customer reviews for 5 stars, 110 for 4 stars, 14 for 3 stars, 2 for 2 stars, and 0 for 1 star. Now if you know anything of such product rating/reviews you know that to have nearly 87% 5 star ratings and 98% 4 & 5 star ratings is very rare. A number of the reviewers said that they have or have had hearing aids costing 1000’s of dollars and could not tell the difference between them and these $300 hearing aids. Now, I’ve not yet had them for 24 hours, but I am very very happy with them. I have high frequency hearing loss and these have 2 settings. 1 setting for flat (across all the spectrum) loss and 1 setting for high frequency loss. I’m really very very happy with them. They will shortly have 111 5 star ratings. There is no background hiss or other nose in them that I can detect, even at quite high amplification. The volume setting is from 1-4. I have one ear set at 1.5 and the other at 2. The 2 ear, I needed to turn up only for hearing while on the phone. The receiver for the hearing aid is behind the ear, obviously a distance from the phone speaker. . . When I first had them on Jackie coughed a few feet away from me and it hurt my ears. . . My parrot was whistling and calling this morning and likewise hurting my hearing. . . the blower fan in my truck sounded almost deafening on the drive to work this morning. . . I had to turn them way down from what I had them set at originally.From what I’ve read it will take me about 2 weeks to grow accustomed to them. . . to again learn to hear sounds I haven’t heard in a long time. I don’t get any commission or anything from these hearing aids, but I know that there are others out there unable or unwilling to pay 2-4 thousand dollars for hearing aids. I’ll tell you these things are great! Dave Now, I have been wearing them for almost a week and my happiness with these hearing aids continues to grow. A couple of things, first they come with a selection of several ear pieces of different sizes. The first size ear piece I chose would begin to hurt my ears after a full day of wearing them. I found that I could go the the next size smaller ear piece and still have a good seal and not get any feedback through them. It took a few days to find the right volume setting. I hear no background hiss in them and you tend to not think them working if you are in a quiet setting. One of the first mornings I had them. I put them on and went out to get firewood and heard a unidentifiable roar outside. I called my wife out to see if she could tell what it was and I had them turned up too high and was hearing the trucks on the interstate highway a couple of miles away. In the past week I’ve watched 2 movies without having the captions turned on. That is a first for me in several years. . . The one problem I am having with them is at church. If I turn them down as low as they will go, they still amplify the music so much, such that it hurts my ears. If I turn them off and leave them in, they act like ear plugs and I cannot even follow the music lyrics to sing along, so I have to take them out while the worship music is on and put them back in when the preaching starts. . . That is my only complaint with them and I don’t know that any hearing aid would not have the same problem. I just love them. After a week I feel like they are a part of me. I cannot believe how much better I hear. As I read in another review, they’re not perfect. I don’t believe any hearing aid will be the same as having the same hearing as I had when I was 20 years old. It would be better to have my natural hearing back, but until medical science comes up with a way to repair aging ears. . . these hearing aids do a fine fine job and I (and my wife!!!) am so thankful I bought them.


Posted by D. Guy on June 30, 2012

This Acoustitone Hearing aid is a great value for the money. I’ve been wearing a pair of $4ooo.oo dollar hearing aids for about 3 years and I can’t tell the difference in quality of hearing between them and my Acoustitone hearing aid. The first one was so satisfactory I decided to replace my other expensive one. I really like that I can use it with my custom ear mold and also that the batteries last about a week longer. Acoustitone PRO Hearing Aid.


Posted by Phil G on June 26, 2012

I got really tired of what I consider to be the hearing aid scam. The ridiculously high prices that are charged for them and the “used car salesmen” tactics that the audiologists use trying to sell you new ones all the time. I feel that they are trying to take advantage of older people. It makes me very angry.I replaced my “high dollar” audiologist sold hearing aids with these and have been very happy with them.The tone control circuitry does not have quite the range of the high dollar aids, and sudden very high volume noises tend to distort a little, but those are very minor problems when compared to the extreme cost differences.I am very happy with this product.


Posted by D. Albrand "SFBay Sailor" on June 24, 2012

The unit seems well built, but after following the directions very carefully, and enlisting the help of my electrical engineer room mate, it failed every test we could devise. My hearing loss is of the high frequencies only. Perhaps I need a spectrum specific instrument. I am returning these after less than a week. Wish they had been better!


Posted by Computerdood "nucman" on June 14, 2012

As my hearing started to get worse, I researched and read, and inquired at the extreme to find a solution that I could afford, and would actually work..I purchased two of these initially because of a better price. I have a slight hearing loss in one ear, and a greater percentage of loss in the other. I got these very quickly from Amazon. The Pro’s work awesome..I could not believe the value for your money. They work without any problems or any setup..You open the box, and the only adjustment you make is to the tube length. Instructions are very good. I could not believe there was no break-in period. They work great, and have had zero problems..A week ago I actually dropped one in the sink in standing water.. I thought that is the end of that hearing aid. I pulled it from the water, took the battery out and let it dry for an hour. Put the battery back in and IT WORKED!!!! I am so happy with this product I purchased a third one to keep at work for a backup..I tell you, this is a GREAT value. I knew I didnt want to spend 5000 dollars on a product that my friend tell me if you have issues with them, it can be 300 to 400 dollars or more to repair..I am thrilled with the performance, and would HIGHLY recommend this prouct..


Posted by Computerdood "nucman" on June 14, 2012

As my hearing started to get worse, I researched and read, and inquired at the extreme to find a solution that I could afford, and would actually work..I purchased two of these initially because of a better price. I have a slight hearing loss in one ear, and a greater percentage of loss in the other. I got these very quickly from Amazon. The Pro’s work awesome..I could not believe the value for your money. They work without any problems or any setup..You open the box, and the only adjustment you make is to the tube length. Instructions are very good. I could not believe there was no break-in period. They work great, and have had zero problems..A week ago I actually dropped one in the sink in standing water.. I thought that is the end of that hearing aid. I pulled it from the water, took the battery out and let it dry for an hour. Put the battery back in and IT WORKED!!!! I am so happy with this product I purchased a third one to keep at work for a backup..I tell you, this is a GREAT value. I knew I didnt want to spend 5000 dollars on a product that my friend tell me if you have issues with them, it can be 300 to 400 dollars or more to repair..I am thrilled with the performance, and would HIGHLY recommend this prouct..


Posted by Sue on June 13, 2012

This is my first set of aids, so I can’t personally compare products. However, going by other people’s experiences with various high cost aids, I don’t think I would ever pay such prices. You can get a perfectly fine product from MDHearingAid for a fraction of the cost. Very good product at a reasonable cost for people that do not want to go in debt for an aid that will most probably not help you hear any better. Hurray for a company that has stepped up to the plate to help us hard of hearing folks by giving us a product with a price we can live with.


Posted by brenda on June 05, 2012

I can’t say enough about what a great product the Acoustitone PRO is!! It was shipped fast and is all that MDHearingAid listed it to be!! Has made a huge difference!!


Posted by mikeyJ on June 05, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the power of this hearing aid. I ordered it in December for my profoundly deaaf in one ear father.He broke his expensive aid and I thought we’d try this. What a bargain!! This hearing aid is awesome!! Much nicer than the expensive ones and works better. It’s big enough for him to handle but small enough to look good in his ear. He’s talking about ordering another for his other ear. Well worth the money!! Prompt delivery! You can’t go wrong with this hearing aid!!


Posted by G. Mounter "Showme" on June 04, 2012

This hearing really is a good product. Hearing has improved, sometimes I hear more than I want to. Batteries only need to be replaced every 7 to 8 days. I am very pleased with this hearing aid in every way.


Posted by Glenn A. Haynes on June 03, 2012

I had bought a $2,700 digital hearing aid few years ago and when it failed I purchased the much less expensive Acoustitone Pro and was pleasantly surprised to find it works perfectly! Thank you! (As a 6 month follow up I am still very pleased and now find they are Made by Siemens - second largest electronics company in the world, from Germany.)Glenn Haynes, Prairie Village Kansas.


Posted by LARRY FRATICELLI on June 03, 2012

Just recently I recieved my small hearing aid from a private authorized hearing aid office in which I paid $1200. I was determoned to try a hearing aid for the advertised price by MDHearing which I did on Amazon. It cost me only $179 and I find the quality of the expensive one and the MDHearing to be identical in which the MD one has extra features. MDHearing aid has saved me a great deal of money with NO loss of quality.


Posted by sara on June 02, 2012

The acoustitone hearing aid is an excellent product for the money..I have had mine for over a year and it is still working well..I paid much much more previously for one and couldn’t afford to pay anything close to that again..The acoustitone has helped me to hear much better..It does require some assembly and after that is trouble free..


Posted by E. Dale Parker "The Old Pastor" on June 02, 2012

MDHearingAid Acoustitone PRO Hearing Aid (Set of 2)Simple economics, I could not afford a pricey Hearing Aid of any type, so these looked good to me. Amazon has proven to be a reliable company to deal with so I ordered from them. Took awhile to adapt to using them and I found that the thin line or smaller breathable inserts work very well for me. Wish the company would make them available by themselves. Super pleased with the Acoustitone Pro,saved my marriage of 59 years. Dale


Posted by Annabelle J. Smith on May 25, 2012

This hearing aid was even better than I expected, even after reading so many five-star reviews. For instance, not only does the TV sound louder, but the sound is clearer than without the aid. It’s easily adjusted. I am very pleased.


Posted by Luis Figueroa "L Figueroa" on May 25, 2012

The Acoustitone Hearing Aid provides fantastic value! I have been using the hearing aid in several environments (house, work, and in streets) for several months and it enhances my hearing without any significant intrusion. The hearing aid has several modes (regular and a higher frequency option), and a volume control. My hearing for my left ear falls off rather quickly( a hearing test has indicated moderate hearing loss for that ear) for higher frequency sounds, and one of the 2 Acoustitone hearing aid modes of operation allow me to enhance my higher frequency hearing (I can now hear the birds chirping from that ear). In addition, the battery seems to last for forever. At times, there is some high pitch sound, if the volume is set too high, but it goes away quickly when you turn the volume lower. Overall, the aid greatly exceeds my expectations and I am very pleased. Lastly, the company is very responsive to request for information and completely backs their product.


Posted by Raven on May 21, 2012

These hearing aids worked well and compared favorably to my multi-thousand dollar ones. Not quite as good, of course, but not far off. They worked well enough for me to order the thin tube kit(s) which supposedly make the aids “nearly invisible.” In fact, they are just about as visible as the standard tubes due to the length of the larger part of the tubing. They are also more uncomfortable because this larger portion of tubing is less flexible than the standard tubing and winds up hurting your ears. Moreover, you have to turn the volume of the hearing aids up to get the same amount of amplification—probably because the aid uses air conduction and the tubes are smaller. I did ask this question of the person I spoke with over the phone prior to ordering the thin tubes and was assured that there would be no change in amplification. I also have some serious concerns about the customer service department of this company. When I called to inform them of my concerns, I was told that someone would call me back about the matter. I waited a few days with no response and then called them back. I was told that someone was looking into the matter and would call me back. A week later and still no response. Overall, I would say that I’m fairly pleased with the hearing aids, but have not been pleased with the thin tubing kit and have some real questions about the customer service for this company.Update: Literally within a few hours of posting this review, I received a call from a very pleasant fellow at MDHearing Aids. He was very apologetic about not getting back with me sooner and offered to take back the thin tubing kit or just sent me a replacement set of the regular tubes in order to avoid the hassle of sending them back. I opted for the latter. Maybe all of this is just coincidence, but I’ve never been a big fan of coincidence. Anyway, I’m happy that Amazon gives opportunity for feedback and feel that it is very important to the customer for a number of reasons.


Posted by MOMFISCH on May 10, 2012

QUALITY PRODUCT-WORKS WELL-CONTROLS- EASY TO USE-BOUGHT FOR MY MOM AND SHE HEARS WELL WITH AND IS MODERATE TO SEVERELY IMPAIRED-SHE FINDS THEM COMFORTABLE AND THEY REALLY ARE NOT EASILY VISIBLE TO OTHERS


Posted by Carol M. Dolan on May 05, 2012

This hearing aid is really amazing.I have considerable hearing loss in my right ear, so I am usually interested in advertisements for an inexpensive hearing aid.I was looking at an ad in a magazine for a $49 hearing aid and googled it, as I often do when i am considering a purchase. I did fall for a $30 device several years ago that turned out to be pretty hopeless.While googling the ad I had seen I saw many listings for the MDHearingAid, and read some of the reviews which were sort of mixed. Then, I read one which convinced me that I needed to try this one.I am so glad that I ordered a pair. They are making a real difference in my social life which was becoming difficult in larger gatherings. Even in smaller groups I would have trouble hearing whoever was on my right side.When the package arrived I read all the instructions, inserted the batteries and cut the tubing to the proper fit for my ear and tried it out. I was blown away by these relatively inexpensive aids. There is some annoying background noise, but most tolerable. The sound is normal and not tinny or distorted. They are really unseen and comfortable. I wear glasses all the time and they fit right over the tubing. I went to my grandson’s concert at UNH last night and the sound was fantastic.I bought the pair but I’m only using one, but I keep the other one in my purse because I have forgotten to wear it a couple of times.I will just say, I am surprised and completely pleased.


Posted by Marge M on May 03, 2012

When my husband first realized that he had a hearing loss which interfered with his quality of life, he also realized that getting an expensive hering aid was out of the question because he knew it would be lost in short order - he misplaces everything.He searched and settled on ordering the Songbird. At 2 aids for $80.00 every 2 months, it turned out to be an expensive choice. He lost some because they fell out - it was almost impossible to keep them on unless hooked to the temple piece of his glasses - that worked until he removed the glasses. He has to change between his regular trifocals and special prism lenses for PD patients to read the computer monitor. The non-replaceable battery made them even more expensive since even if not lost they were ultimately thrown away. And there was occasional feedback problem. He stopped wearing them except for going out; I finally cancelled the order.Price was a consideration as were function and form. My search began when he kept accusing me of yelling-of being angry all the time. Conversation became a chore. We lived the old joke of the 3 elderly ladies on the train.Not actually having his medical record but being familiar with his hearing and volume range, I began the search to find an aid which would cover a broad range, fit securely, be adjustable and offer options. I was excited to find the MD Hearing Aid Acoustitone Pro. I considered the less expensive model but decided that we’d begin with the Pro.I ordered one and the day it arrived, guess who lost it. No, me. I was fitting it on him and went to get a scissors to cut the flexible tube. I returned but could not find it. We looked for 10 minutes. I was crawling all over the place with a flashlight. I finally decided to retrace my steps verbally. He put his hand to his ear and realized that it was still securely in place, held just by the rigid tube.So I cut the tube, we determined the best tip to use and put in the #13 battery. I adjusted it - no feedback - nothing but audible sounds with no white noise. The batteries can be problematic because it is hard to find that red + on the pull out battery holder. But other than that and the fact that his PD fingers can’t adjust it (no biggie) it has been a dream come true.This aid stays in place well - it has never fallen off - he’s even napped with it in place. It has several setting options/combinations. It is easy to clean. And we are having normal conversations again.We just ordered a second one for the other ear or to keep as a spare - his choice.I’m just happy to be able to be heard when I have a smile in my voice.


Posted by R. Alexander "Tiger Lover" on April 24, 2012

I had been gradually losing my hearing in my left ear. I admitted to myself that it was time to get some help, but knew that my Mom’s Hearing aids cost over $2,000.00. My insurance will not pay 1 red cent on that. I saved my money and made the appointment for two weeks out. Then I got online and starting researching. I lucked up on the Amazon search for this product. For the price of $169.00, I was willing to give it a try. Figure, I still had my appointment and if I had gambled and lost, it wasn’t such a high amount. I got the hearing aid within 3 days of ordering. I hooked it up, put it on, and could hear again. I immediately canceled my appointment. I could hear conversations without missing much of what was being said for the first time in years. Plus, the device is virtually invisible since I don’t have short hair. Thanks for the quality of my life back.


Posted by dgivan on April 18, 2012

I recently purchased the MD hearing aid set and am well pleased with my purchase. I am now able to hear sounds that I didn’t know were happening around me! It is important to get a good fit. I tried the different ear pieces until I found one that was comfortable. I hope this set lasts a long time!


Posted by Chanie M on April 17, 2012

My 91 year old great grandmother has been struggling with hearing loss for the past few years. She is in pretty good health otherwise, and the inability to fully participate in conversations was starting to get her down. I personally never realized how hearing loss worked, but for her she couldn’t hear certain tones. (For example she can hear my voice perfectly fine, but she can never understand my grandmother) She kept talking about saving up the money to buy some hearing aids she had seen on TV that cost $50. I looked into them and realized they did nothing more than amplify ALL sounds. I knew there was no way I could let her waste what little money she had on a ripoff.I started looking into purchasing a set for her. Custom hearing aids were out of the question and my budget. After much research, I found the Acoustitone PRO Hearing Aids. They had great reviews, and a more than reasonable price. I bought them for her, shipped them to her house, and told her not to open the box. I drove down one weekend, and set them up for her. Cutting the tubing and fitting them was relatively easy, just a matter of trial and error. I would definitely be careful not to cut them too short! I snipped a little off at a time until I got just the right length.I think few things will ever be able to top the look in her eyes when we turned those on for the first time. She absolutely loves these hearing aids, and you can’t even tell she’s wearing them. (Seriously. I’m 24 and very detail oriented, and I have to look really hard to notice them.) She said it took time to adjust to them and get used to changing the setting depending on her environment, but she couldn’t be happier. She can actually have a conversation, whereas before she often smiled and nodded without understanding what the other person was saying. At her age, she feels as if her independence is slowly fading away, and these hearing aids helped her reclaim a little bit of that independence. She called me after a few days of wearing them to tell me she had heard her grandfather clock ticking for the first time in over ten years. She had never even noticed that she didn’t hear it anymore.I’ve been surprised by the battery life as well. We have only had to change the battery once in 3 months.I would highly recommend these to anyone looking for an affordable, quality hearing aid.


Posted by Time Warner Customer in North Texas on April 17, 2012

I am very pleased with these hearing aids. Very reasonably priced. Excellent quality. No deception in advertising, purchase, or shipping. Customer service was excellent. Post office accidently shipped to wrong post office. I called MD HEARING customer service for help. My problem was immediately responded to. I was given a confirmation number regarding the handling of the issue and was emailed shortly by a lady who assisted me and tracked down the problem. Problem was resolved in a very timely manner and was told the company would most likely replace for free my hearing aids if they were not found in short order.The aids work well. I have previously purchased an expensive set of hearing aids. These work better and are more confortable. Settings and volume control are excellent. I am almost totally deaf as a result of many years of working as an elementary school physical education teacher in a very small gym.It is great to find a company that is selling hearing aids at such a resonable price and at such a high quality. Thanks for the product.In addition, I have found that the batteries last a very long time.


Posted by gypsy "gypsy" on April 16, 2012

Excellent product. The hearing aids surpass the hearing quality of my $3500.00 hearing aids. Great Product that I highly recommend. Only problem that I have had with them is when I take my glasses off it sometimes hits the volume control and changes the volume. I totally recommend this product.


Posted by bmtrappers on April 12, 2012

I have had more expensive aids over the years that haven’t been as good the only neg I have is the MD aids are hard on batterys


Posted by bmtrappers on April 12, 2012

I have had more expensive aids over the years that haven’t been as good the only neg I have is the MD aids are hard on batterysHelp other customers find the most helpful reviews


Posted by John M. Galbraith on April 10, 2012

The MDHearing Aid Aqoustitone PRO worked very well for me. It did not take long to get used to it. I followed the directions and all worked well. No one even noticed that I was wearing it. High quality. I will keep using it.


Posted by Pull nTug on April 08, 2012

I’ve had this hearing aid over a year now. I’ve tried several over the years and this one is by far the best.Note: I just ordered another one. Thought I’d lost the first one but it went through the washing machine and dryerin my shirt pocket. (Not recommended!!!) Unbeliveably, I put in a new battery and it works fine. I hope the company who makes these stays in business for a long, long time. Outstanding Product. I highly recommend it!Victor


Posted by S. Lbck on April 07, 2012

I have an untreated, moderate hearing loss in one ear (the result of foolishly setting down my ear protection at a shooting range.) While the damage was not severe, it resulted in difficulty hearing conversations when there is ambient noise (e.g. TV, machine, or restaurant sounds in the background). My health insurance doesn’t cover hearing aids so I was delighted to find this highly rated, inexpensive item at Amazon.com.Delivery was unusually fast. The printed instructions for setting it up (e.g. installing the battery and sizing the tubing) were helpful and easy to understand. Because my hearing loss is “sloping” I set its amplification to “mid + high” (it also has a “low, + mid + high” option for “flat” hearing loss.) Selecting the best-fitting dome from among the five provided, as well as setting the volume control, required a bit of experimentation. I chose a volume setting between 1 and 2 (it goes up to 4).I experienced an immediate, significant improvement: While wearing it, I am less likely to ask people to repeat themselves when there is background noise.APRIL 16,2012 UPDATE: Hoping to enhance the performance of my newly-acquired Acoustitone PRO, I ordered MD hearing Aid’s “thin tubing open fit system” upgrade ($23.90)directly from its website. For me, this upgrade didn’t result in noticeably improved sound reception (and I didn’t perceive an advertised improvement in appearance). Unfortunately, the upgrade was nonreturnable after its packaging had been opened. Nevertheless, I consider my original purchase a good value and remain a satisfied customer.MAY 26,2012 UPDATE: My new health insurer just provided me with a $2,450 over-the-ear (Phonak) digital hearing aid, thus giving me an opportunity to compare it with my recently purchased MD Acoustitone (MD-A). I’m satisfied with the Phonaks’s features, but I don’t regret purchasing the MD-A. I still rank it as a five-star value at its current price. It does a good job, and will serve as my backup.What did the extra $2,270 buy? Some of the main benefits of the digital unit seem to be: better sensitivity via its two (front-and-back) microphones (vs. the MD-A’s single microphone); smaller size makes it more comfortable when worn all day; three programmable choices for blocking selected frequencies—as well as blue-tooth connectivity to my TV and cell phone—give it more versatility; better corrosion-resistance because it is waterproof.


Posted by magic on March 31, 2012

I PURCHEST THE HEARING AIDS AT AMAZON .CO I received the acustitone pro hearing aid 2 weeks ago & found the sound rearly weird after reeding up on it I found you must order the small open hearing kit that will run you aproximatly $40.00 with the new kit I found them quite good The company should include it with hearing aids to be sure the cust will be happy


Posted by Hercuroc35 on March 27, 2012

I lost hearing in my right ear. The softest sound I can hear in my right ear is about 60 decibals. The ENT said that I would need a $3000.00 hearing aid. My insurance did not cover any of the cost. So I went about 2 years not being able to hear very much out of that ear, unless it was extremely loud. I was unable to localize sound because of the lack of hearing in my right ear. I then saw an ad on the MD hearing aid Acoustitone Pro. The ad said the hearing aid was good for my type of hearing loss. I purchased the hearing aid and tried it out. It took a couple of weeks to get use to but it worked pretty well. I was able to localize sound again and understand people talking on my right side again. Now the hearing aid is analog so it will not sound like your natural ear. It wont drown out all the background noise in crowded places either. I have notice that it will pick up the person closes to you voice over the background noise. I guess it depends on what type of hearing loss you have. If you can’t afford thousands of dollars for a hearing aid, this will help improve your hearing. I had several hearing test before I bought this hearing aid. So I knew that I couldn’t set the volume higher than 2. Have a hearing test done before purchasing this hearing aid. You do not want to further damage what hearing you have left. This hearing aid will boost the volume up pretty loud if you go past 2 on the dial. Its not digital but it works and very affordable.


Posted by John in LV "scubajwd" on March 20, 2012

I bought these hearing instruments via Amazon in Sept of 2010; I’ve been a hearing aid wearer since1990 when I wore my very first “digital” hearing aid; expensive Widex Senso’s in 2000-2004then nothing from about 2005 until I bought these guys from MDHearing (going mostly onall the positive reviews seen on Amazon)..needed to hear my new granddaughteras she learned to speak..I now wear full-time high-end instruments fromOticon that I’m paying dearly for(no insurance or any govt help at all) out ofmy retirement savings what little there is..but for me having as natural hearingas possible is worth more than having money in my checking account..the Acoustitone’sfor me just did not provide natural sounds, music was extremely mechanical andwarbly sounding, and they do very little noise suppression from your listeningenvironment..loud barking dogs or other sharp noises just were amplified beyondany decent threshold for me..they have now been relegated to being emergencybackups for my Oticons..God forbid I’ll ever need to wear them again! I’mvery happy many in here have had positive life-changing experiences with them..I did not..


Posted by Joe on March 03, 2012

I can hear again. The MDHearingAid is the first hearing aid I have had that I needed to turn down the volume. It’s still not perfect. No matter what end I use, it gradually comes out of my ear. It also could look better but I have not tried the thin tubing that they have available.


Posted by Rusell C. Davis "Russ" on February 25, 2012

It works - it really works. I have used hearing aids that cost ten times more than this that didn’t work as well. Some of them didn’t work at all, so I was truly amazed when I received the MDhearingAid. I love it and have recommended it to several friends. Russ


Posted by Dorothy A. Bock "Melonee" on February 25, 2012

Paid attention to the other ratings, and am I glad. My husband is having no trouble with this aid. He gets ready for bed and forgets it is in his ear. Considering the price of prescription aids, this one is a rare find.


Posted by Lew on February 19, 2012

This product is possibly the best bang for the buck I have ever encountered. After sending back two different aids costing $3500 or more each, I tried this one because of all the positive comments. The comments do not do it justice. The aids arrived in 3 days, took less than 5 minutes to assemble, and provide a quality I would never have expected. I can hear my wife again, hear the television again, and I wear them in public areas with no problem. They are simply unbelievable. My thanks to the doctor who saw a need for a “cheap” aid and then created a Cadillac product.UPDATE: As time has passed, I have become more adept at setting the hearing aids so they will work “most” of the time. In my profession, I spend a large part of my day in a large room with varying levels of noise, some soft, some harsh. I’ve played with the settings to the point I have found a good setting on each ear for most situations. I STILL can’t believe I have accomplished all this with such inexpensive hearing aids. As the first reviewer points out, you’ll never get your hearing back, so don’t expect cheap or expensive hearing aids to do that. My point is that these hearing aids, without all the fancy self modulations are just as good or better than the expensive sets. And, by the way, the aids have helped my wife and I have better conversations. I turn them up to speak to her and then turn them down again when I enter a busy room. So simple, so good.


Posted by Edward W. Matchett on February 14, 2012

A good hearing aid is essential for me, particularly in certain situations. As an attorney, one place I want to be sure I have my hearing aid is in the courtroom so that I don’t miss anything that is said. This hearing aid is absolutely amazing for the price. I highly recommend it and honestly, it works better and is more dependable than my prior hearing aid which cost far more. Why pay more when this product is as good or better than the more expensive brands. I’m not trying to impress anyone with some brand name; I just want to be able to hear in those situations where good hearing is a must.


Posted by Daniel G. Burke "D. Burke" on February 08, 2012

First, I want to say that buying two of these hearing for 349.00 is what they *should* cost, and good job to MD Hearing for making this happen. I also appreciate that the hearing aids have two settings for both high-frequency and flat amplification and have good sound quality, with plenty of amplification.I would like to have some custom-molded earpieces which I know is possible, but the procedure for how to do this is glossed-over on the MD Hearing site. I know I can get my ear molded, but what then? How do I make it fit the Acoustitone Pro?I would love to see these aids in colors other than beige. Some of us are still young, or care about color, or aren’t trying to ‘hide’ our obvious hearing aids anymore. Standard hearing aids come in all kinds of colors for BTE (Behind The Ear) models now.I would like to see a Bluetooth connectivity option, which I’d gladly pay a bit more for so I can use these hearing aids with my iPhone/iPod or any compatible device.Great value overall. My local audiologist wanted $5250.00 for a pair of Oticons (with bluetooth). Even just getting a hearing aid repaired is 250.00!I can’t wait to see what MD Hearing does next…but I hope they add Bluetooth, color options and better instructions for how to get custom-molded earpieces soon. Dan


Posted by cjay on February 06, 2012

so far so good. No problem at all. Came in time though i had to expedite the order. Works perfect so far according to my in-laws.


Posted by Pala37 on February 06, 2012

The hearing aid works almost as good as the $2000 unit that I purchased from my HMO doctor’s referral. It is well worth it. I recommend this product over the precription unit provided by my HMO.


Posted by Beverlee Helser on January 30, 2012

My husband has been putting off getting hearing aids because of the high cost. So, MD Hearing Aids were a chance to see if they would help. Well, they’re great and he’s hearing much better for little cost.


Posted by JP on January 30, 2012

I purchased my first set of hearing aids in January 2004. At that time I was diagnosed with “moderate hearing loss” and paid $4,000 for two hearing aids recommended by my physician and audiologist. Since that time my hearing has become progessively worse. I was at the point where my original hearing aids could not be programed to work with the hearing loss I was experiencing. I received a quote of $6,000 for new hearing aids, again with no guarantee that they would provide the hearing assistance I was seeking. I was told I have only 85% comprehension even at corrected hearing levels.When reading the reviews and the money back guarantee of the MD Acoustitone PRO I decided to try two of these hearing aids to see if they would help. I received the hearing aids about three weeks ago. I have used them daily, normally 14 - 16 hours per day. I am hearing better than I ever did with my $4,000 aids, and with the volume control and selection of tips I can adjust these so that I am able to hear much of what I have been missing in the past several years. As an added benefit, my $4,000 hearing aids would require new batteries every 3 - 4 days. I have been wearing these MD Acousittone Pros for almost three weeks and am still on the original pair of batteries! These are size # 13 vs. # 10, a little larger but the same price - about $1.00 per battery. At this rate, I will save another $80 per year on battery replacements.I strongly recommend that if you are a current hearing aid user or if you feel that hearing aids will benefit your life try the MD Hearing Aids. For a comparison, most audiologists will offer a 30 day trial on their aids. Try a pair of expensive aids and compare to the MDs. I would bet that you will agree with me that the MD are not perfect, but are every bit as good as if not better than the more expensive hearing aids.


Posted by Delbert K. Mogle "Keith" on January 29, 2012

I ordered two so my wife and I could use one of them and save some money over a single unit purchase. Before we bought this product, we did a lot of research and was shocked at the cost for hearing aids. It was with some skepticism that we bought them anyway, but with a 45 day return option, thought it was worth the risk. Based on our experience, with our hearing loss (50% for my wife), anyone who needs a hearing aid should give this one a try first, and save hundreds to thousands of dollars. Even with the aid set at its lowest volume setting the increase in hearing is almost too good to be true! It’s true that the product uses analog instead of digital technology, and doesn’t all fit inside the ear, but how much is your vanity worth?


Posted by mr.fluffy97 on January 26, 2012

The company is 5 stars in their customer service. We bought the hearing aids as gifts for our parents, for Christmas. We never expected to return them, since the reviews were so positive. The company handled the return efficiently and courteously. I would not hesitate to purchase MD Hearing Aids again in the future.


Posted by Buffy on January 24, 2012

I bought this for my mother who has severe hearing loss in both ears. I could not afford the $1000+ hearing aids. She said it works perfectly! I will be purchasing another one for her other ear. She can now be a part of our conversations without having to repeat everything. I know she is so happy about that!!! As long as this lasts I will continue to only buy these!


Posted by James P. Scott on January 11, 2012

Okay, my last hearing aids cost $5000. They hurt my ears and made me think my head would explode. I wore them until my dog ate them one day. By then, my little girl was grown up and I could sort of hear her.Over Christmas break, my kids explained that smiling and nodding was not the same as understanding, and they extracted a promise that I would get new hearing aids. I saw these, saw the guarantee, read the specs, and ordered a pair.I expected a major hassle getting them fitted and set up. It took ten minutes, because I was very careful. I expected them to be clunky and uncomfortable. I can’t tell they are in without putting my hand to my ear. They are almost invisible. I expected $339 performance. They outperform my $5000 pair.Am I satisfied? Yes!Update: I have been wearing these for five months now. If there is a concern, it is that they are so comfortable that I forget that I have them in. I have gotten into the shower and had to jump back out when I remembered. I have gone to bed and realized from the feedback that they are in. My girlfriend constantly forgets I have them on, doesn’t see them and gobbles up my ears. (Oops!) If I was any more satisfied, I would be two satisfied customers.


Posted by Fulton C. Lytle Jr. on January 07, 2012

I needed a hearing aid simply to increase the loudness of others’ voices. This does that for me without spending an enormous amount of money. I am very pleased with the quality and value and would recommend this product to friends.


Posted by J. Peterson "fisherman" on January 07, 2012

I thought there must be something on the market a lot less expensive than my old in-the-ear Miracle Ear hearing aid. I read the reviews here for the Acoustitone Pro and decided to try one. I was not disappointed. This is a quality hearing aid, and when my right ear Miracle Ear in-the-ear hearing aid goes, it will also be replaced by an Acoustitone Pro. By the way, my Miracle Ear hearing aids were over $1,000 each. You do not have to spend big money to improve your hearing. Totally satisfied Acousitone customer.


Posted by none on January 04, 2012

My husband heard of this from a friend. Since he has worn them and has enjoyed hearing things better. He continues to wear them.


Posted by J. Levra "voks" on December 31, 2011

I was diagnosed with hearing loss when I was 8 years old. I am now 57 and have tried a lot of over the counter amplifiers and hearing ‘aids’. When I was 25 I got an ‘expensive’ hearing aid for one ear (could not afford 2) for the ear with the most profound loss (65% loss). It was in the ear. I did not like it, but I wore it off and on for the last 25 years or so. It was always, always a chore and a burden for me to wear it. I only wore it to please others, actually, as I was perfectly happy in my quiet, lip reading world. Then some members of my family decided I needed an ‘intervention’ and told me how hard it was to engage in conversations with me and they only did it because of their love for me. I guess I nodded a lot and pretended I understood a conversation and then when my answer was so off the wall, they realized I had not heard correctly (or read the lips correctly). Forget it if someone turned away from me, all hopes of ‘hearing’ were lost for me. I had to correlate the sounds with the lip movement.SO.. I started to research hearing aids on the net. I still could not afford the high price tag of the ‘good’ hearing aids, but realized I’d have to do something about this since my family was so concerned about how much I was missing. After a couple of days of research I came upon MDHearingAid. And I liked their reviews all over the net, not just here on Amazon. I started emailing one customer service rep, Anne, and she steered me in the right direction. I ended up with 2 aids and I also got the thin tubing with the open domes. I am so glad I did!! When I got them, I tried the closed domes first and it was just like my other doctor ordered hearing aid. The sound was not good for me. The thin tubing and open domes were perfect! Easy to personalize the length I needed and I ordered smaller domes because my ears are so very small (inside and out).I have now had them for 3 months and OH MY GOODNESS! When I first put them in, I was so amazed at what I could hear, I grabbed my jacket to run outside to tell my husband. As I was putting it on, I noticed my jacket made a noise with every move I made, I had no idea it made a noise!! It made me cry (in a good way). My husband was so excited he made me jump on the ATV and we took a ride in the woods so I could hear the forest ‘noise’. Precious and profound. I feel like I’m a ‘member’ of the hearing club!! I can understand my grandchildren, I can have great long discussions with them now and I know they like it better too. I don’t have to use headphones to hear the tv!! I had headphones on every tv (just for me) for the past 15 years. So now I can listen to tv AND converse with people!!! MIRACLE to me!! I have my radio volume on my car at TWO now!! Instead of all the way up.It did take some adjustment to get used to the sounds! I’d go around saying, ‘what is that, and what is that now?’. Then once I identified it, and put it in my memory banks, there it stays. Much like how you identify new smells and then recognize it when it comes again. I did not know our wood stove fan made noise! I can hear when my oven beeps, my breadmaker, my coffeemaker… all things that were completely lost to me before.If you’re going to get these, PLEASE have patience, follow their directions and just use them a few hours at a time each day (at first) and please do not hesitate to email MDHearingAid customer service. They are wonderful.I completely recommend these, but I also recommend that you get TWO and also the THIN TUBING/open fit domes. Because when I’m wearing just one, it makes me have no idea where a sound just came from…. my brain can’t seem to fathom it or something. With 2 it is 100 times better and more natural!!


Posted by Familiare on December 28, 2011

This product is best and Good.I plan to buy one for my mother( 60+) and finally i found this product.1. Prices is cheap and best.2. Battery life - Changing battery once in a six days.3. Handling - Very easy- because only one time i explain my mother and she understand and start using next time without any mistake.4. Reliable and convenient.5. Shipping - For me it took 3 days.I strongly recommend this product, who need best price and best quality.


Posted by karennel on December 17, 2011

I have purchased several hearing aids for my husband, including some very expensive ones. He has never been satisfied with any of them. Not long after getting his last very expensive hearing aids, he lost one when out on his tractor. He had them in his shirt pocket, took out his phone, which was in the same pocket, and must have pulled one of them out with the phone and dropped it in the field. He didn’t notice it at the time, so now it’s time to think about another “expensive” hearing aid or look for some more reasonable ones. I searched the internet and then decided to check Amazon. When we got these he was immediately happy with them. One of the reasons being the price and the other was his hearing! Says he hasn’t heard this good for a long time. Another reason for ordering this product was the product reviews. It’s very helpful to see what other people think. Thank you Amazon for carrying such great products!


Posted by Ruth T. Moore on December 15, 2011

I did not want to get an expensive set of hearing aides so I thought i would try these. So far I am very pleased: easy to get rid of howling; the two different settings (N or H) made them better for me. Only problem is - I have no idea how much better an individual frequency toned output specific to my hearing loss would be


Posted by orwoody on December 14, 2011

After ten years of fighting with a high dollar name brand in-the-ear model hearing aid, I was lucky enough to loose it. I say lucky because in my search for another one, I happened to see the PRO by Acoustitone. It seems to work so much better for me than my first model did that I am now glad that the other one is history. Maybe I am just lucky because the standard earpiece that comes with it works fine for me, but they do have other more customized options. I heartily recommend this and especially do in light of its low price and high quality. Those are two descriptors that rarely are seen together, but in the case of the Acoustitone PRO, they certainly apply.


Posted by Amy Flowers on December 09, 2011

I have had problems with my ears for a couple of years now. I was recently diagnosed with Meniere’s disease along with a low frequency hearing loss in my right year. I just received my acoustitone today and Wow! What a Difference! It was not difficult to get it working. I purchased the vented domes and thin tubing instead of what comes in the standard package. This is my first time with a hearing aid ever, and I already barely notice that it is there. The aural fullness feeling is gone. The tinnitus is gone. Most importantly, I can hear! I was getting so tired of making everyone repeat themselves. The instructions are very good. It did not take much time at all to figure out the best setting for me. I was worried because my insurance won’t cover the cost of a hearing aid, and I couldn’t afford what the audiologist was recommending. I chose the acoustitone pro based on the reviews I read, and I’m not sorry that did.


Posted by jingeorgia on December 07, 2011

I have been having trouble hearing for several years now, but knew the cost of hearing aids, as my Mother has a $5,000 pair. I just didn’t have the money. I began researching the internet, and came across the MD hearing Aid Pro. I ordered two, and as soon as I received them I put them in and began to hear again. It is wonderful to be able to hear the TV and not have to “read” the closed captions. I cannot believe the quality of these hearing aids for the money. I am thrilled to have found them. Unfortunately, I went on a trip and lost my hearing aids. I was devastated! I have just ordered a new pair.I highly recommend this product.


Posted by Simple soul on November 25, 2011

These aids do for me as well as my $4000 aids did. Sure, they magnify ALL sounds, but they are much easier to adjust than the digital ones I’ve used for years. Also, I simply used the ear pieces from my old ones. I didn’t have to ‘cut the tubes’.


Posted by Frank King on November 22, 2011

My Father has moderate hearing loss and with this devices he can listen very good, and the most important he feel more confortable using this aid and speaking with others.


Posted by Rex Moore on November 17, 2011

These hearing aids are horrible for me, but I’m still giving them a good review because for a lot of people they will be awesome. Most people have either high frequency hearing loss or straight line (across all frequencies) hearing loss. And for both of those types open fit hearing aids are a very affordable option to be able to hear better. I have reverse slope hearing loss (or low frequency loss). So the 2 times I put these hearing aids in it was very painful, because they amplified all of the high frequencies that I hear very well already. I only wish that I could get open fit hearing aids for my type of hearing loss, because it’s going to cost me a fortune to get custom digital hearing aids that only amplify the frequencies I need.


Posted by Albert Covington on November 10, 2011

These hearing aids are excellent. One of the things I like is you don’t have to be so carful about sweat. I can run, sweat get the hearaid good and wet and they just keep on working. I have had to be very careful with expensive hearing aid and water, if they get a little damp I have to let them dry out a few days. The MD hering aids are rugged. There is no hearing aid that will repace hearing the MD’s do as good as the $5000 jobs.


Posted by B L Dillahunty on November 08, 2011

I have now ordered 4 pairs of these hearing aids. Maybe I should ask for a commission from the company. The first two sets were for my sisters. I tried out one of theirs and thought it was so wonderful to be able to hear again that I immediately ordered a pair for myself. Last week we had relatives visiting from Texas. She tried one of mine and was so impressed that we ordered a pair for her. None of us had ever worn hearing aids before but we had no problem with wearing these. I can’t tell you how nice it is not to be asking people to repeat themselves. Also, it has been my experience that I’m having to replace the battery about every 3 weeks. This product has changed my life. We all received them in about 3 days after ordering so that was an added bonus. I’ve had mine probably 3 months and have no complaints whatsoever. I recommend them to everyone I know who has a hearing problem.


Posted by Walter Beynon on November 01, 2011

By Walter B HawaiiHave the hearing aids for five months it works beautiful no regrets.Customer service excellent and people reviews really help me a lot.Made a good decision and I’m happy than puchasing a bad hearing aidfor $4000


Posted by Steve on the Lake on October 30, 2011

I have been wearing high priced Siemens in-the-ear hearing aids for years. They had to be sent to the factory for maintenance, so I bought a pair of Acoustitone Pro hearing aids to get me by. I love them. My old ones are now repaired, but I keep using the Acounsitones. I hear just as well (or better) and they are more comfortable. I have been wearing them for five months and love them.Steve


Posted by Jennifer Geddie on October 30, 2011

I have been wearing this a few days now, and so far IT IS GREAT! For the first time ever I have heard my ” blinkers” turn signals in my car ! WOW. I did not realize how bad my hearing is .It is a pleasure to be able to hear and be more aware of what is going on around me, and I have zero annoying noises associated with using it . I have to say this works like a charm, and at least it does not cost too much. I was afraid it would be really difficult to get used to , but it has been surprisingly easy . I actually forget I have it on… and it is almost invisible. I feel grateful to have found this product !


Posted by Harris Gurowitz on October 29, 2011

I purchased this hearing aid two months ago. When I first received it I was amazed. I wrote in immediately to give a positive review. After two months use I am still as pleased as the day I first received it. I tried other less expensive devises and was not satisfied at all with the quality of sound. The Acousitone Pro has excellent sound. I have friends who spent thousands of dollars on hearing aids and were not happy with the results.


Posted by SCAT on October 27, 2011

At first when my wife put both of of her Pro Acoustitone Hearing Aid’s in without me knowing I was accused of yelling at her without realizing . So now I ask if she is wearing them . Can’t see if they are in her ears , the tubes are so tiny . Our life for sure has improved thru these Hearing Aid’s . My wife can understand our 5 year old granddaughter much better. We like to thank your company for providing a great product at a reasonable price. UPDATE : 12/3/11 .After seeing on Acoustitones web side that there is a thin tube kit with open air tips available, we ordered it for my wife . My wife say,s that the new kit makes this great product even greater by cutting the back ground noise down some more and also improving the comfort of the fit , because of the added stabilizer fiber for the outer ear .


Posted by Bach-Man on October 14, 2011

These hearing “amplifiers” are an excellent product. They perform exactly as represented. Though they are “amplifiers”, NOT hearing aids, they work very nicely as the latter. Bought them for wifey, who has significant hearing loss in both ears. At first, she only wanted one, but I insisted she try two. Needless to say, she is glad she did. The two different adjustable controls enable her to tailor each unit to her specific ear conditions. I must also mention the warranty, which is quite generous, and realistic: the company requires that the purchaser try the product for 45 days BEFORE returning (if one is not satisfied). That allows for time to adjust to the new hearing experience. THEN, the company offers a full refund if not satisfied. How can you lose? Finally, the cost: VERY reasonable! We were considering custom hearing aids, at a cost of some $1,300 EACH; but, for less than $400 for the pair, these units are a BARGAIN—because they do what they say they do!


Posted by Warner Shows on October 06, 2011

Because of the glowing reviews of this hearing aid, I decided to buy two. The price really low, and most users were happy. At first I was pleased with my purchase, immediately hearing sounds which had long ago deserted me. But after both devices failed, I was not so happy.Pros: Amplified most ordinary sounds adequately.Easy to fit and wear; comfortable.Inexpensive.Cons: Excessive amplification of noise: clanging, ringing, any harsh noise. I was not able to stand wearing them in restaurants, fastfood joints, loud crowds, etc.Cheaply made. One failed after about 6 months (warranty 90 days); the second failed about a month later. I sent the first infor repair/replacement, which was rapid, but cost about $60, including postage both ways.Conclusion: I will likely not send the second failed device in for service. Rather, I will spend more to get a hearing aid or device which (1) has a warranty of at least a year, and (2) one which has some adaptability to various life situations.Update:After my initial review (3 stars), I was contacted by Dr Cherukur of MDHearing about my problem, by email and by phone. The company has since replaced the defective aid at no cost, other than return shipping costs. Dr Cherukur believes the failure of my hearing devices is likely due to humidity. I would suggest that users in humid areas use some sort of drying device, such as a dessicant or heated storage. Some of these dryers are quite inexpensive; some cost too much for these hearing aids. Amazon.com has them.Because of this outstanding personal support, I am adding an extra star to my original review, bringing the new score to 4 stars.


Posted by hong joong kim on September 28, 2011

This is a review and two questions.My review:The manual says to be careful when I cut the tube to fit around the ear. Well…I cut a little too much, and so the tube is too short now. I called the company and explained the situation. The tube kit, which also includes dome-shaped plug, is $25.90 for pair. plus $3.95 S&H. So, be careful when you cut the tube because they don’t sell just the tube.The customer service also said that they sell a thin tube kit, which they say is more invisible, for $34.90. plus $3.95 S&H. I guess this is a must because, although I was impressed with how well it worked, I was a bit disappointed with the size, and how visible it was.My questions:How do I make sure that tubes don’t fall off. When I pull out the plug, the tube often gets disconnected. Is it ok to glue it? That is, I carefully use crazy glue so i don’t clog the tube.Another question is about the setting. H is for those who have sloping hearing loss. But what if I have a little bit of both?I set my volume to about 1 and 1/3 under N. it gets too loud if i set it to 2. So, i guess my hearing loss isn’t that bad. but it gets worse when there are distractions like in outside.Are there many people who switch from N (low pitch) to H (High Pitch, distraction) when they go out in a crowd? And then, back to N when they come indoor?


Posted by dave s "dave s" on September 15, 2011

Purchased for my wife. She absolutely could not use. She said it was loud but not necessarily clear and felt like she was listening through a tin can. The item was returned and the vendor customer service was excellent. The purchase price was promptly refunded minus a fee of $5.00 that they said was from Amazon. A call to Amazon customer service ended with a $5 credit to my next purchase. The item was definitely worth trying considering the price. If you follow the return policy you will have no trouble with a refund.


Posted by puremusic on September 11, 2011

After two trips to two different audiologist, we knew we would never be able to afford the prices quoted us for hearing aids for my 94 year old Mom. So I went to Amazon, found these hearing aids, ordered two, and saw an amazing difference in her hearing immediately. I relied solely on reviews to determine which hearing aid to purchase and we have not been disappointed. Great product for the money!!


Posted by Gavin Dehler on September 09, 2011

I have been hard of hearing my whole life, “50 %” in each ears was what I was always told and have been wearing aids since I can remember. My parents struggled to find a funding source when I was a child for them, and as an adult I have had to rely on charity from the state or others. That is until now. My 7 year old Siemens digital hearing aid finally died from a little moisture the other day during a rainstorm I was caught in leaving me with a major problem as I work in a customer service oriented sector and am planning to do some extensive traveling soon. Needless to say I am tight on money. I have not searched for hearing aids in many years, so I panicked, thinking I would have to pay thousands for a solution to my hearing problem, and even have to forgo my travels. Thankfully the digital age brought me a solution in the form of Amazon.com and MDHearing Aid.I truly believe that the market is cornered on Hearing Aids and that we have all been ripped for years, this sub-$200 product meets or exceeds all I have worn before it, I can hear things I have not heard in years, on the lowest of settings this Aid provides. The two channel setting also works very well in many situations. This product went far and beyond what I ever expected of it, given its price range.In hard times like these, many are struggling for answers to this very serious hardship, and tho I am not any form of specialist, I would highly suggest this product to anyone.Dont hesitate, just try it. I will be buying a 2nd, the second I have the money.Thank you again MDHearingAid, you saved me!


Posted by Oliver on September 08, 2011

I had a couple of shots at expensive hearing aids. They didn’t fit my ears and so I lost them. While I had them they tethered me to audiologists, because they were not adjustable by the wearer.I can adjust this hearing aid to my specic hearing loss and the circumstances in which I find myself. It comes with several ear pieces, and I found one that stays in my ear. The batteries last forever. I am still on the first one after several weeks. The only downside is that background noise can overwhelm individual speech. I am about to send for a second MD Hearing Aid. As a psychiatrist I find this hearing aid invaluable. It is not invisible, but it is not obtrusive.


Posted by R. Witham on September 07, 2011

After buying a pair for my mom, we had to buy one more. Not because they don’t work but because the care-givers at where she lives just can’t seem to get the batteries in the proper way. They ended up breaking one of the battery doors because the battery was incerted backward. I know anyone with a hearing problem will be happy with these aids and it sure beats paying thousands of dollars for a pair.


Posted by Ourania's Friend "YoYo" on September 06, 2011

At last - affordable hearing aids! With the economy in its present state, money being very tight, and my $900 aid dead, I was in big trouble. I need two hearing aids, and one died over a year ago. I was limping along on one, but it was difficult, and I would be exhausted at the end of the day from the effort to hear.I purchased the PRO model and was delighted with it! So delighted, I ordered the 2nd one as soon as I could (the coupon that MDHearingAid enclosed for a second purchase covered the cost of shipping). Delivery was really fast, and the 2nd one came within 24 hours! I find them extremely comfortable and light - I was surprised to discover that I experienced no “wind” roaring when walking in the wind outside, no background hissing and it is a blessing to hear through both ears again. The ear piece is comfortable too, and the tubes are almost unnoticable (I have short hair). They are light and easy to wear. Although I miss the custom fit of my “button” model, it is not a problem at all.I am still playing with the H and N settings - I find them both working for me in different situations. I work in a school, which reopens this week, so I know I will be wincing in a noisy auditorium and lunchroom, but I am so grateful to hear again. The only improvement I could see making to this is a phone switch/coil - I would be more than willing to pay a little more for that option.God bless MDHearingAid and God bless Amazon!


Posted by Toolbelt on September 05, 2011

You will not go wrong purchasing these hearing aides. I’ve worn aides for the past 15 years or so and was constantly looking for something reasonably priced. Paying 5 grand for an aide is stupid. The high priced aides allow the vendor to sell less but make more money, simple as that. I also needed something that would give me good amplification in the high frequency range. The aides volume control is numbered 1 through 4, with 4 being the highest setting. By the time you get to 4 the neighbors down the street will also hear them so don’t worry about that. The only thing I would add is to check out the Comply snap tips at lloydshearingaid web site. These tips allow the volume to be set high without the feedback. GREAT aide and the price is right!!!!


Posted by Ralph H. Jones on September 05, 2011

I have moderate hearing loss in both ears above 1,000 cps (-60db). They tried to sell me a set about a year ago for $5,000 plus, but I decided the cost versus gain was not worth it. Plus they said they would only last for three years.I searched the internet and came across the MDHearingaid Acoustitone Pro, read the reviews and decided to try them. They were shipped the next day but it took USPS a bit longer than expected to deliver. Can’t complain since shipping was free.Can’t compare to other hearing aids since they are my first. They are of good quality and have an excellent signal to noise ratio. The battery life is amazing (over two weeks). I suspect that depends on how much gain is needed and how many hours per day they are left on. Finding the correct size earplug and cutting the tube to the correct lenght took several days. My ear plugs turned out to be different sizes and the tube lenghts different also. There are a couple of areas MDHearing should be working on. There doesn’t appear to be any sound compression so in a noisy environment it is best to turn them off. There is also wind noise in a moderate breeze. Overall they are a great value for the money and I would recommend for moderate high frequency hearing loss. They do reduce the selective hearing defense and definitely should be turned off before firing a 357 magnum.


Posted by Edward F. Rountree "buster" on September 01, 2011

JUST RECIEVED MY HEARING AID THIS MORNING I AM COMPLETLY SATISFIED.BETTER PRODUCT THAN THE ONE I PAID TEN TIMES THE PRICE AND DIDN’T WORK PART OF THE TIME.


Posted by Harold W. Wheeler on August 30, 2011

Having spent over $7000.00 on hearing aids that proved to be, less than adequate and certainly fell short of the manufacturers performance claims, I am a bonafide hearing aid skeptic.My wife lost a good percentage of hearing in her left ear. We saw the ad for the PRO hearing aid in a magazine and immediately went to Amazon.com to research it. (Amazon.com is a great place for researching items.) We discovered that she could try it for several weeks and return it if it proved unsatisfactory. She said she wanted to try it.Forget returning it. You couldn’t get it away from her no mater how hard you might try.It works just as advertized, covering a wide range of sounds in TV, movies, and conversation. With it her hearing has improved to her satisfaction.Good product, good price, and it functions as advertized.HWW


Posted by Ric Corless "Ric C" on August 21, 2011

These aids perform very well: I am able to maintain clear understanding of conversations in most environments (other than loud music), and that is difficult enough for persons with no hearing loss. Having retired a pair of 4-channel digital aids that went through batteries every 6 days, I am very pleased by the battery life with these Acoustitone PRO aids. Every day I routinely put on the aids first thing upon arising in the morning, and take them off last thing before retiring. I have been wearing these aids 28 days as of this evening, and the original batteries are still in place.One complaint: having had digital aids prior to the Acoustitone PRO model, there is one feature I strongly prefer with the digital units: no analog volume control to accidentally bump and change. The digital aids I was used to had a button that would step through a series of volume changes, and it was nearly impossible to change that setting without a hard press of the button. With the Acoustitone PRO, it is far too easy to bump the volume control and alter the setting.I would absolutely recommend these aids to a friend with age-related high frequency hearing loss. With respect to audio quality, I can discern no difference between my prior digital aids and the Acoustitone PRO aids.


Posted by Alan on August 12, 2011

Bought this item for my mother who was told that a hearing aid would not help her problem. She tried it and now swears by it! It has good fit, good battery life, easy to use controls. We are both very happy with it.


Posted by CRH1219 "CRH1219" on August 11, 2011

The hearing aids do work but my mother’s hearing is so poor that we have to turn the volume nearly to the maximum output. Unfortunately, when we turn them to that level we get a lot of feedback which startles my mother and we are constantly needing to adjust the volume. MD Hearing solutions were great considering the mess the post office made of the first package sent. Ordered on the 1st of July and was supposed to receive on the 14th but they never came. The only complaint I have is contacting the seller isn’t exactly easy. I did get to speak to a person but it was a long drawn out process. The best way it seems is through email, but I am not particularly fond of that method of communication. After speaking to MD they sent out another package priority mail and I did receive it in about 3 working days. The original shipment came the next day in a baggie from the post office with a completely squished box and it appear as if some tips were missing, not MD’s fault. Frankly I was worried about getting my money back from this item but they promptly credited my account and everything worked out great. I would order from them again if they had something I needed. I give them 5 stars for working with me on this complicated situation.


Posted by A. Lucas on August 10, 2011

This is a very good product as well as a very good company. I was not able to use the hearing aids due to a personal problem I have. I regret having to return them because it had nothing to do with any fault of the aids.MD HEARING AIDS issued me a full refund after they sent a questionnaire asking me what kind of problem I had, which is a very reasonable request. This is a very prompt and helpful company to deal with. Al, from Florida


Posted by Massachusetts on August 06, 2011

I put off buying a hearing aid for 10 years because of the exorbitant high cost. Saw the Accoustitone Pro by MDHearing on Amazon and how highly rated it was. For $330 I thought I’d take a chance. I ended up buying it from MDhearing’s website because I wanted an additional set of the thin tubes. I am 100% satisfied with this product. Never having owned an aid costing thousands of dollars, I can’t really compare. But these do the job just fine. I’m hearing things I didn’t were there! Now I’m asking my wife to please speak softer instead of louder.The company is also great on customer service. I had bought the hearing aids with rush delivery, paying an additional shipping cost. I went back and ordered the thin tubes the same night, also with additional rush shipping costs on a separate order. The merchandise came in one shipment and MDHearing automatically refunded the second rush shipping costs even before I could ask for a refund.I definitely recommend this product and company.


Posted by J. Automotive "faith18" on August 05, 2011

“Got these for my dad. Up front we knew these are not the quality of the $2000 units and we had no expectations of such. With that said, my dad is very happy with his much improved ability to hear. As stated by other reviews, they do not filter well in crowds but that’s not what I paid for. They were worth every penney I paid for them.”


Posted by travels on July 31, 2011

“Received the product, tested it and love it. 5 stars, no complaints.” I have no other experience with hearing aids because their high price, in the thousands, was a turnoff to me. But this MDHearing Aid is affordable and I don’t know how any aid could work better for me.


Posted by Jack on July 30, 2011

I have been wearing Oticon Deltas for a couple of years. Although I am pleased with their performance, I feel that I need a volume adjustment at times during meetings, etc. which the Deltas do not have. So I was looking for another pair. After reading the many positive reviews, I figured for the price I’d give these a shot. I love the performance, and these meet my needs for the occasional boost of volume when I need it. They have been a big help.On the downside, they are significantly larger than the deltas, and the actual tube to the ear seems excessively large to me, and much more noticeable. You have to cut the ear tube yourself for fitting, so I guess thin tubes would have been awkward to mount. But they really need to find a better tube design.


Posted by Paul on July 29, 2011

purchased this hearing aid for my 84yr old mother back in 6/13/11. I did not know how effective this was going to be considering my mothers hearing in one ear is pretty bad. To my suprise my mother really liked it. She says she can now hear things that she could not before. And for that my review of this product is favourable.


Posted by Paul on July 29, 2011

purchased this hearing aid for my 84yr old mother back in 6/13/11. I did not know how effective this was going to be considering my mothers hearing in one ear is pretty bad. To my suprise my mother really liked it. She says she can now hear things that she could not before. And for that my review of this product is favourable.


Posted by Mike G on July 29, 2011

Didn’t have the money to spend thousands on hearing aids. I just dealt with not hearing people speak for the last two years. My lucky day when I browsed Amazon and found this hearing aid with great reviews. Best thing that happened to me since loosing my hearing. Works like a charm! Only negative thing I found, is now I hear people that I’m not interested in listening to.


Posted by Betty Boopski on July 27, 2011

The surprise is that the product does just what it claims. After weeks of researching products and their reviews, I settled on the Acoustitone PRO for several reasons. One is the price compared to much more expensive units. Another is local input regarding other hearing aids that cost so much more and don’t work particularly well. Third is I thought this would be a “bridge” until better aids are developed. I don’t think I’ll need the “better aids” as the PRO works extremely well, allowing our tv volume to be turned back by 6 digits and allowing me to become more involved in conversations that I can now enjoy because I can really hear them and not just pretend I do. Loud tv’s and a series of “what’s that…what did you/she/he say?” are a thing of the past.


Posted by Ramesh at LonelyPeopleChampion on July 25, 2011

I had been searching for a reliable hearing aid that was priced reasonably. My search lasted for more than a year. When I found the MDHearingAid, it took me a very short time to make up my mind and place the order. It has been a justified decision - the hearing aid has lived up to what I read about it on Amazon.com and MDHearigAid.com. I tend to read up all that stuff before I spend the money.The hearing aid has about 8 settings, currently I need only to set my hearing aid at about 2 of 4 on the Normal channel. I was able to listen to an individual in a room filled with about 20 talking people.While I was reading about this hearing aid at their website, I read that it does not have circuitry to block out loud sounds but considering the low price I was willing to take the risk of wearing it. After all, I work in an office. Also, I realized that the low price could not include the expensive circuitry to block out loud noises.I use a very tiny amount of vitamin E on the plastic plug that goes into my ear canal and that keeps my ear canal happy, but that’s just somethig that works for me. I am going to keep the vitamin E away from the hearing aid itself!The battery usage seems to be real low. I am happy with my hearing aid.


Posted by Ramesh at LonelyPeopleChampion on July 25, 2011

I had been searching for a reliable hearing aid that was priced reasonably. My search lasted for more than a year. When I found the MDHearingAid, it took me a very short time to make up my mind and place the order. It has been a justified decision - the hearing aid has lived up to what I read about it on Amazon.com and MDHearigAid.com. I tend to read up all that stuff before I spend the money.The hearing aid has about 8 settings, currently I need only to set my hearing aid at about 2 of 4 on the Normal channel. I was able to listen to an individual in a room filled with about 20 talking people.While I was reading about this hearing aid at their website, I read that it does not have circuitry to block out loud sounds but considering the low price I was willing to take the risk of wearing it. After all, I work in an office. Also, I realized that the low price could not include the expensive circuitry to block out loud noises.I use a very tiny amount of vitamin E on the plastic plug that goes into my ear canal and that keeps my ear canal happy, but that’s just somethig that works for me. I am going to keep the vitamin E away from the hearing aid itself!The battery usage seems to be real low. I am happy with my hearing aid.


Posted by Evelyn Kern "Literature Lover" on July 23, 2011

I am 86 years old, have had a genetic hearing problem for many years. I’ve had my Acoustitone PRO hearing aids for several months now and can’t begin to relate how wonderful they are! I can hear the birds sing again, and I can attend classes and hear everyone, including those soft-spoken people. I have 3 friends with the fancy hearing aids that cost $10,000 for the pair and, amazingly, none of the three wear their aids because they say they don’t work well. (One person has two sets, totaling $20,000!) When they saw my new aids they were unbelieving. Besides, my aids are only slightly larger than theirs! My PRO aids are easy to wear, don’t show even tho I have short hair. A plus is the excellent customer service I received when I wrote with a question. I highly recommend these aids!


Posted by M. Johnson "markjnamvet" on July 21, 2011

I bought these hearing aids hoping they would help my moderate hearing loss. While they did not help my specific issue I think that they are a great value. In addition, the company did just what they said they would in regard to a refund. They asked me for an explanation of how I used them and why I felt they didn’t work for me. After I did so they graciously instructed me how to return them. I think it important to recognize this since many reviews tend to be negative (not of this product but overall).


Posted by Westlin on July 20, 2011

I recently ordered this item—have some hearing loss but not able to afford $6,000 hearing aid. My job requires the ability to hear, so after reading reviews decided to try this product. It works as advertised—still some feedback but not horrible. The ear piece is a little uncomfortable—feels like my ear is plugged all the time but I have ordered an open fit ear piece which I hope feels less constricting. At first, I had a little trouble getting it to stay on my ear, but finally found the placement I needed to keep it in place most of the time—does tend to move when I change volume but not too much movement. Also, will sometimes move a little when I put on my reading glasses but again, not too bad and that is probably just a matter of me getting a little more used to it. One thing I had worried about was that it would be very visible—it is NOT!! Happily, it barely shows and when my hair is down, doesn’t show at all. That is important because despite all sorts of laws, regulations, etc. about not discriminating about workers with disabilities, my employer would quickly find a reason to let me go if he was aware of my hearing problem—so discretion was important to me. So, doesn’t show and works in a discreet way—good product so far.


Posted by Honkwomp on July 17, 2011

Update 2 months after purchase:Would by these again in a flash. My work situation has dramatically improved. These are a bargain and I am still tickled pink——————————————-I am gonna warn you up front, this is my first set of hearing aids. I just do not have the money to spend 1k or more per ear for the expensive stuff. So, I ordered these and I admit, I do not have a reference point.Want to hear two mosquitoes argue over whether fat or skinny people taste better? How about a gnat passing wind at 50 yards? Or maybe the straw that broke the camel’s back was the last 2 hour meeting you were in where you were able to hear about 1/10th of what the boss said. Okay, maybe that is not so bad, but you get the idea! No matter what reason you want improved hearing, these do the job, and, they do it for a reasonable amount of moneySo, whether your goal is to audio spy on the two teens making out in the dark spot behind your house, simply hear clearly for the first time since you don’t know when, or get a replacement for the one you dropped in your false teeth glass, these reasonably priced devices fit the bill.The volume range is adjustable from barely adequate to “Whoops, I just popped the top of my head off” loud. The sound is narrow band so I find that what works for me is to use the smallest ear pieces and not seal the ear canal. The danger of this is that if you need to crank them, you might get some feed back. But in a quiet room even at high gain, I do not have issues with thatThe seller, MDhearingAid shipped them so fast, they arrived almost before the echo of last mouse click placing the order had ceased. Less than 24 hours fast. They took me 30 seconds an ear to fit, and I was off and running. And oh, boy! I CAN hear!! I will admit, I am adjusting. I am still looking for the sweet spot where I hear conversation, but not so loud the electronic door lock close to my desk hurts my ears. But now, I hear so well, I have to ask my girlfriend to quit yelling at me. Yea, it was that bad before. I could not be happier even if I had been stripped to my undies, covered in contact cement and then tossed into a tub of 1000 dollar bills in a “keep what sticks” contest!The seller shipped fast, the product is as represented and works as stated! How about that for honest dealings?


Posted by T. Pittman on July 13, 2011

This review is from: MDHearingAid Acoustitone PRO Hearing Aid (Set of 2)I have worn hearing aids now for seven plus years. (more expensive ones) When my last set broke I decided it was time to try these since they had such a high rating. They are greater than expected. They work much better than any I have ever had. I am only using about one fourth of the volume and now I can hear so many things that I missed out on before. Also the service from the company is outstanding, I had to e-mail them after I had placed my order and they replied to my e-mail before the close of business on the same day. I ordered the pair, because after wearing hearing aids, I feel that you need to wear them in both ears. Don’t let the price keep you from trying these because I believe you will be very satisfied with them. I will say this, if I ever need anymore in the future I will certainly buy from this company without even thinking about it.


Posted by 999999 on July 05, 2011

This hearing aid has plenty of amplification but even when it is not in the all sound amplication mode, I find it has to be a little too loud if I am to pick out a voice in a high background noise setting. When the noise level is moderate, it works fine for me and generally I am satified with it.


Our Hearing Aids