MENU
Amazon Product Reviews

MDHearingAid on Amazon.com

Amazon Customer ReviewsMDHearingAid successfully sold the PRO model on Amazon.com for a number of years. However, Amazon implemented changes which do not support our superior customer service and 45-day Risk Free 100% Money Back Guarantee. Therefore, we are no longer selling our hearing aids on Amazon.com.

MDHearingAid offers a 45-day Money Back Guarantee so you have the chance to wear your new hearing aids, get used to them, and see if they will improve your hearing and your life. Amazon discourages any returns or refunds unless the product is unopened, which would not give you a chance to see if our hearing aids are the right hearing solution for you. 

MDHearingAid does not charge a restocking fee unless you do not wait a minimum of 21 days, or return your hearing aids after 45 days. Amazon has a mandatory restocking fee for returned items.

MDHearingAid offers 24/7 customer service and support. Amazon's policies limit our ability to communicate directly with our customers.

MDHearingAid only sells high-quality, affordable hearing aids. Amazon allows a large number of imitation hearing aids to be sold on their site under the category of "Hearing Aids". This is a confusing and deceptive policy.

We believe these changes have made it increasingly difficult to provide value and service to our customers on Amazon.com. Therfore, for the time being, we have decided to suspend sales of MDHearingAid products on Amazon.com.

During the three years that the MDHearingAid PRO was being sold on Amazon.com, it was the #1 rated and #1 selling hearing aid. Read customer reviews of the MDHearingAid PRO below.


MD Hearing Aid 8

Posted by bmtrappers on April 12, 2012

I have had more expensive aids over the years that haven’t been as good the only neg I have is the MD aids are hard on batterysHelp other customers find the most helpful reviews


Hearing Aid works well 8

Posted by John M. Galbraith on April 10, 2012

The MDHearing Aid Aqoustitone PRO worked very well for me. It did not take long to get used to it. I followed the directions and all worked well. No one even noticed that I was wearing it. High quality. I will keep using it.


Great Hearing Aid 10

Posted by Pull nTug on April 08, 2012

I’ve had this hearing aid over a year now. I’ve tried several over the years and this one is by far the best.Note: I just ordered another one. Thought I’d lost the first one but it went through the washing machine and dryerin my shirt pocket. (Not recommended!!!) Unbeliveably, I put in a new battery and it works fine. I hope the company who makes these stays in business for a long, long time. Outstanding Product. I highly recommend it!Victor


significant improvement 10

Posted by S. Lbck on April 07, 2012

I have an untreated, moderate hearing loss in one ear (the result of foolishly setting down my ear protection at a shooting range.) While the damage was not severe, it resulted in difficulty hearing conversations when there is ambient noise (e.g. TV, machine, or restaurant sounds in the background). My health insurance doesn’t cover hearing aids so I was delighted to find this highly rated, inexpensive item at Amazon.com.Delivery was unusually fast. The printed instructions for setting it up (e.g. installing the battery and sizing the tubing) were helpful and easy to understand. Because my hearing loss is “sloping” I set its amplification to “mid + high” (it also has a “low, + mid + high” option for “flat” hearing loss.) Selecting the best-fitting dome from among the five provided, as well as setting the volume control, required a bit of experimentation. I chose a volume setting between 1 and 2 (it goes up to 4).I experienced an immediate, significant improvement: While wearing it, I am less likely to ask people to repeat themselves when there is background noise.APRIL 16,2012 UPDATE: Hoping to enhance the performance of my newly-acquired Acoustitone PRO, I ordered MD hearing Aid’s “thin tubing open fit system” upgrade ($23.90)directly from its website. For me, this upgrade didn’t result in noticeably improved sound reception (and I didn’t perceive an advertised improvement in appearance). Unfortunately, the upgrade was nonreturnable after its packaging had been opened. Nevertheless, I consider my original purchase a good value and remain a satisfied customer.MAY 26,2012 UPDATE: My new health insurer just provided me with a $2,450 over-the-ear (Phonak) digital hearing aid, thus giving me an opportunity to compare it with my recently purchased MD Acoustitone (MD-A). I’m satisfied with the Phonaks’s features, but I don’t regret purchasing the MD-A. I still rank it as a five-star value at its current price. It does a good job, and will serve as my backup.What did the extra $2,270 buy? Some of the main benefits of the digital unit seem to be: better sensitivity via its two (front-and-back) microphones (vs. the MD-A’s single microphone); smaller size makes it more comfortable when worn all day; three programmable choices for blocking selected frequencies—as well as blue-tooth connectivity to my TV and cell phone—give it more versatility; better corrosion-resistance because it is waterproof.


must get the open small tube ear peices 8

Posted by magic on March 31, 2012

I PURCHEST THE HEARING AIDS AT AMAZON .CO I received the acustitone pro hearing aid 2 weeks ago & found the sound rearly weird after reeding up on it I found you must order the small open hearing kit that will run you aproximatly $40.00 with the new kit I found them quite good The company should include it with hearing aids to be sure the cust will be happy


MD hearing aid Acoustitone Pro great hearing aid 8

Posted by Hercuroc35 on March 27, 2012

I lost hearing in my right ear. The softest sound I can hear in my right ear is about 60 decibals. The ENT said that I would need a $3000.00 hearing aid. My insurance did not cover any of the cost. So I went about 2 years not being able to hear very much out of that ear, unless it was extremely loud. I was unable to localize sound because of the lack of hearing in my right ear. I then saw an ad on the MD hearing aid Acoustitone Pro. The ad said the hearing aid was good for my type of hearing loss. I purchased the hearing aid and tried it out. It took a couple of weeks to get use to but it worked pretty well. I was able to localize sound again and understand people talking on my right side again. Now the hearing aid is analog so it will not sound like your natural ear. It wont drown out all the background noise in crowded places either. I have notice that it will pick up the person closes to you voice over the background noise. I guess it depends on what type of hearing loss you have. If you can’t afford thousands of dollars for a hearing aid, this will help improve your hearing. I had several hearing test before I bought this hearing aid. So I knew that I couldn’t set the volume higher than 2. Have a hearing test done before purchasing this hearing aid. You do not want to further damage what hearing you have left. This hearing aid will boost the volume up pretty loud if you go past 2 on the dial. Its not digital but it works and very affordable.


OK for many..but not for me.. 4

Posted by John in LV "scubajwd" on March 20, 2012

I bought these hearing instruments via Amazon in Sept of 2010; I’ve been a hearing aid wearer since1990 when I wore my very first “digital” hearing aid; expensive Widex Senso’s in 2000-2004then nothing from about 2005 until I bought these guys from MDHearing (going mostly onall the positive reviews seen on Amazon)..needed to hear my new granddaughteras she learned to speak..I now wear full-time high-end instruments fromOticon that I’m paying dearly for(no insurance or any govt help at all) out ofmy retirement savings what little there is..but for me having as natural hearingas possible is worth more than having money in my checking account..the Acoustitone’sfor me just did not provide natural sounds, music was extremely mechanical andwarbly sounding, and they do very little noise suppression from your listeningenvironment..loud barking dogs or other sharp noises just were amplified beyondany decent threshold for me..they have now been relegated to being emergencybackups for my Oticons..God forbid I’ll ever need to wear them again! I’mvery happy many in here have had positive life-changing experiences with them..I did not..


I can hear again 8

Posted by Joe on March 03, 2012

I can hear again. The MDHearingAid is the first hearing aid I have had that I needed to turn down the volume. It’s still not perfect. No matter what end I use, it gradually comes out of my ear. It also could look better but I have not tried the thin tubing that they have available.


Great Product 10

Posted by Rusell C. Davis "Russ" on February 25, 2012

It works - it really works. I have used hearing aids that cost ten times more than this that didn’t work as well. Some of them didn’t work at all, so I was truly amazed when I received the MDhearingAid. I love it and have recommended it to several friends. Russ


MD Hearing Aid 10

Posted by Dorothy A. Bock "Melonee" on February 25, 2012

Paid attention to the other ratings, and am I glad. My husband is having no trouble with this aid. He gets ready for bed and forgets it is in his ear. Considering the price of prescription aids, this one is a rare find.


Blows me away! 10

Posted by Lew on February 19, 2012

This product is possibly the best bang for the buck I have ever encountered. After sending back two different aids costing $3500 or more each, I tried this one because of all the positive comments. The comments do not do it justice. The aids arrived in 3 days, took less than 5 minutes to assemble, and provide a quality I would never have expected. I can hear my wife again, hear the television again, and I wear them in public areas with no problem. They are simply unbelievable. My thanks to the doctor who saw a need for a “cheap” aid and then created a Cadillac product.UPDATE: As time has passed, I have become more adept at setting the hearing aids so they will work “most” of the time. In my profession, I spend a large part of my day in a large room with varying levels of noise, some soft, some harsh. I’ve played with the settings to the point I have found a good setting on each ear for most situations. I STILL can’t believe I have accomplished all this with such inexpensive hearing aids. As the first reviewer points out, you’ll never get your hearing back, so don’t expect cheap or expensive hearing aids to do that. My point is that these hearing aids, without all the fancy self modulations are just as good or better than the expensive sets. And, by the way, the aids have helped my wife and I have better conversations. I turn them up to speak to her and then turn them down again when I enter a busy room. So simple, so good.


Fantastic hearing aid, great price 10

Posted by Edward W. Matchett on February 14, 2012

A good hearing aid is essential for me, particularly in certain situations. As an attorney, one place I want to be sure I have my hearing aid is in the courtroom so that I don’t miss anything that is said. This hearing aid is absolutely amazing for the price. I highly recommend it and honestly, it works better and is more dependable than my prior hearing aid which cost far more. Why pay more when this product is as good or better than the more expensive brands. I’m not trying to impress anyone with some brand name; I just want to be able to hear in those situations where good hearing is a must.


Fantastic value and effective! 10

Posted by Daniel G. Burke "D. Burke" on February 08, 2012

First, I want to say that buying two of these hearing for 349.00 is what they *should* cost, and good job to MD Hearing for making this happen. I also appreciate that the hearing aids have two settings for both high-frequency and flat amplification and have good sound quality, with plenty of amplification.I would like to have some custom-molded earpieces which I know is possible, but the procedure for how to do this is glossed-over on the MD Hearing site. I know I can get my ear molded, but what then? How do I make it fit the Acoustitone Pro?I would love to see these aids in colors other than beige. Some of us are still young, or care about color, or aren’t trying to ‘hide’ our obvious hearing aids anymore. Standard hearing aids come in all kinds of colors for BTE (Behind The Ear) models now.I would like to see a Bluetooth connectivity option, which I’d gladly pay a bit more for so I can use these hearing aids with my iPhone/iPod or any compatible device.Great value overall. My local audiologist wanted $5250.00 for a pair of Oticons (with bluetooth). Even just getting a hearing aid repaired is 250.00!I can’t wait to see what MD Hearing does next…but I hope they add Bluetooth, color options and better instructions for how to get custom-molded earpieces soon. Dan


nice one 10

Posted by cjay on February 06, 2012

so far so good. No problem at all. Came in time though i had to expedite the order. Works perfect so far according to my in-laws.


Excellent For The Price 10

Posted by Pala37 on February 06, 2012

The hearing aid works almost as good as the $2000 unit that I purchased from my HMO doctor’s referral. It is well worth it. I recommend this product over the precription unit provided by my HMO.


Best deal for hearing impaired! 10

Posted by Beverlee Helser on January 30, 2012

My husband has been putting off getting hearing aids because of the high cost. So, MD Hearing Aids were a chance to see if they would help. Well, they’re great and he’s hearing much better for little cost.


Experienced Hearing Aid User 10

Posted by JP on January 30, 2012

I purchased my first set of hearing aids in January 2004. At that time I was diagnosed with “moderate hearing loss” and paid $4,000 for two hearing aids recommended by my physician and audiologist. Since that time my hearing has become progessively worse. I was at the point where my original hearing aids could not be programed to work with the hearing loss I was experiencing. I received a quote of $6,000 for new hearing aids, again with no guarantee that they would provide the hearing assistance I was seeking. I was told I have only 85% comprehension even at corrected hearing levels.When reading the reviews and the money back guarantee of the MD Acoustitone PRO I decided to try two of these hearing aids to see if they would help. I received the hearing aids about three weeks ago. I have used them daily, normally 14 - 16 hours per day. I am hearing better than I ever did with my $4,000 aids, and with the volume control and selection of tips I can adjust these so that I am able to hear much of what I have been missing in the past several years. As an added benefit, my $4,000 hearing aids would require new batteries every 3 - 4 days. I have been wearing these MD Acousittone Pros for almost three weeks and am still on the original pair of batteries! These are size # 13 vs. # 10, a little larger but the same price - about $1.00 per battery. At this rate, I will save another $80 per year on battery replacements.I strongly recommend that if you are a current hearing aid user or if you feel that hearing aids will benefit your life try the MD Hearing Aids. For a comparison, most audiologists will offer a 30 day trial on their aids. Try a pair of expensive aids and compare to the MDs. I would bet that you will agree with me that the MD are not perfect, but are every bit as good as if not better than the more expensive hearing aids.


Wonderful product 10

Posted by Delbert K. Mogle "Keith" on January 29, 2012

I ordered two so my wife and I could use one of them and save some money over a single unit purchase. Before we bought this product, we did a lot of research and was shocked at the cost for hearing aids. It was with some skepticism that we bought them anyway, but with a 45 day return option, thought it was worth the risk. Based on our experience, with our hearing loss (50% for my wife), anyone who needs a hearing aid should give this one a try first, and save hundreds to thousands of dollars. Even with the aid set at its lowest volume setting the increase in hearing is almost too good to be true! It’s true that the product uses analog instead of digital technology, and doesn’t all fit inside the ear, but how much is your vanity worth?


Outstanding Customer Service 10

Posted by mr.fluffy97 on January 26, 2012

The company is 5 stars in their customer service. We bought the hearing aids as gifts for our parents, for Christmas. We never expected to return them, since the reviews were so positive. The company handled the return efficiently and courteously. I would not hesitate to purchase MD Hearing Aids again in the future.


Works great and you can not beat the price!! 10

Posted by Buffy on January 24, 2012

I bought this for my mother who has severe hearing loss in both ears. I could not afford the $1000+ hearing aids. She said it works perfectly! I will be purchasing another one for her other ear. She can now be a part of our conversations without having to repeat everything. I know she is so happy about that!!! As long as this lasts I will continue to only buy these!


I can hear! 10

Posted by James P. Scott on January 11, 2012

Okay, my last hearing aids cost $5000. They hurt my ears and made me think my head would explode. I wore them until my dog ate them one day. By then, my little girl was grown up and I could sort of hear her.Over Christmas break, my kids explained that smiling and nodding was not the same as understanding, and they extracted a promise that I would get new hearing aids. I saw these, saw the guarantee, read the specs, and ordered a pair.I expected a major hassle getting them fitted and set up. It took ten minutes, because I was very careful. I expected them to be clunky and uncomfortable. I can’t tell they are in without putting my hand to my ear. They are almost invisible. I expected $339 performance. They outperform my $5000 pair.Am I satisfied? Yes!Update: I have been wearing these for five months now. If there is a concern, it is that they are so comfortable that I forget that I have them in. I have gotten into the shower and had to jump back out when I remembered. I have gone to bed and realized from the feedback that they are in. My girlfriend constantly forgets I have them on, doesn’t see them and gobbles up my ears. (Oops!) If I was any more satisfied, I would be two satisfied customers.


Very Satisfied, excellent value 8

Posted by Fulton C. Lytle Jr. on January 07, 2012

I needed a hearing aid simply to increase the loudness of others’ voices. This does that for me without spending an enormous amount of money. I am very pleased with the quality and value and would recommend this product to friends.


Replaced a Miracle Ear 10

Posted by J. Peterson "fisherman" on January 07, 2012

I thought there must be something on the market a lot less expensive than my old in-the-ear Miracle Ear hearing aid. I read the reviews here for the Acoustitone Pro and decided to try one. I was not disappointed. This is a quality hearing aid, and when my right ear Miracle Ear in-the-ear hearing aid goes, it will also be replaced by an Acoustitone Pro. By the way, my Miracle Ear hearing aids were over $1,000 each. You do not have to spend big money to improve your hearing. Totally satisfied Acousitone customer.


MDHearing PRO Hearing Aid 10

Posted by none on January 04, 2012

My husband heard of this from a friend. Since he has worn them and has enjoyed hearing things better. He continues to wear them.


WOOHOOO, I can enjoy and am INCLUDED in conversations now! 10

Posted by J. Levra "voks" on December 31, 2011

I was diagnosed with hearing loss when I was 8 years old. I am now 57 and have tried a lot of over the counter amplifiers and hearing ‘aids’. When I was 25 I got an ‘expensive’ hearing aid for one ear (could not afford 2) for the ear with the most profound loss (65% loss). It was in the ear. I did not like it, but I wore it off and on for the last 25 years or so. It was always, always a chore and a burden for me to wear it. I only wore it to please others, actually, as I was perfectly happy in my quiet, lip reading world. Then some members of my family decided I needed an ‘intervention’ and told me how hard it was to engage in conversations with me and they only did it because of their love for me. I guess I nodded a lot and pretended I understood a conversation and then when my answer was so off the wall, they realized I had not heard correctly (or read the lips correctly). Forget it if someone turned away from me, all hopes of ‘hearing’ were lost for me. I had to correlate the sounds with the lip movement.SO.. I started to research hearing aids on the net. I still could not afford the high price tag of the ‘good’ hearing aids, but realized I’d have to do something about this since my family was so concerned about how much I was missing. After a couple of days of research I came upon MDHearingAid. And I liked their reviews all over the net, not just here on Amazon. I started emailing one customer service rep, Anne, and she steered me in the right direction. I ended up with 2 aids and I also got the thin tubing with the open domes. I am so glad I did!! When I got them, I tried the closed domes first and it was just like my other doctor ordered hearing aid. The sound was not good for me. The thin tubing and open domes were perfect! Easy to personalize the length I needed and I ordered smaller domes because my ears are so very small (inside and out).I have now had them for 3 months and OH MY GOODNESS! When I first put them in, I was so amazed at what I could hear, I grabbed my jacket to run outside to tell my husband. As I was putting it on, I noticed my jacket made a noise with every move I made, I had no idea it made a noise!! It made me cry (in a good way). My husband was so excited he made me jump on the ATV and we took a ride in the woods so I could hear the forest ‘noise’. Precious and profound. I feel like I’m a ‘member’ of the hearing club!! I can understand my grandchildren, I can have great long discussions with them now and I know they like it better too. I don’t have to use headphones to hear the tv!! I had headphones on every tv (just for me) for the past 15 years. So now I can listen to tv AND converse with people!!! MIRACLE to me!! I have my radio volume on my car at TWO now!! Instead of all the way up.It did take some adjustment to get used to the sounds! I’d go around saying, ‘what is that, and what is that now?’. Then once I identified it, and put it in my memory banks, there it stays. Much like how you identify new smells and then recognize it when it comes again. I did not know our wood stove fan made noise! I can hear when my oven beeps, my breadmaker, my coffeemaker… all things that were completely lost to me before.If you’re going to get these, PLEASE have patience, follow their directions and just use them a few hours at a time each day (at first) and please do not hesitate to email MDHearingAid customer service. They are wonderful.I completely recommend these, but I also recommend that you get TWO and also the THIN TUBING/open fit domes. Because when I’m wearing just one, it makes me have no idea where a sound just came from…. my brain can’t seem to fathom it or something. With 2 it is 100 times better and more natural!!



© 2009 - 2016 MDHearingAid. All Rights Reserved.

Affordable Hearing Aids from MDHearingAid